Photo via Unsplash.

The U.S. Transportation Department had granted tentative approval to 15 airlines to temporarily halt service to 75 U.S. airports.

Airlines had already been instructed to maintain low service levels in order to receive government assistance, but many petitioned to stop services completely due to low passenger demand.

Both United Airlines and Delta Air Lines won tentative approval to halt flights to 11 airports, while JetBlue Airways Corp, Alaska Airlines, and Frontier Airlines were approved to stop flights to five airports each. The department said all airports would continue to be served by at least one air carrier, reports Reuters. 

Any objections to the order can be filed until May 28.

U.S. air carriers suffer roughly $10 billion in losses a month because of the low pandemic demand, halting thousands of flights and not using half of their fleet. The department had previously granted waivers to the airlines to cancel some additional flights and denied others. On May 12th, the department said it would allow carriers to halt flights to 5% of required destinations.

Under the tentative order, Delta can halt services to Aspen, Colorado; Bangor, Maine; Flint, Michigan; Santa Barbara, California; and Lincoln, Nebraska, among other cities, while United can halt services to airports including Chattanooga, Tennessee; Hilton Head and Myrtle Beach, South Carolina; Key West, Florida; and Lansing and Kalamazoo, Michigan.JetBlue can halt flights to Albuquerque, New Mexico. Palm Springs and Sacramento, California; Sarasota, Florida; and Worcester, Massachusetts. Alaska can suspend flights to Charleston, South Carolina; Columbus, Ohio; El Paso and San Antonio, Texas; and New Orleans.

Only half of the eligible carriers have applied to cut more flights.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here